Alumni Awards Ceremony and Reception

The annual Alumni Awards program is one of Marshall’s longest-standing traditions – and it can’t happen without you!

Ever year, Marshall University bestows outstanding alumni with the Alumni Awards. All are invited to attend the awards ceremony recognizing this year’s winners.

Event Details

When: Saturday, April 1, 2023

Where: Brad D. Smith Foundation Hall

6:00 p.m. – Reception
7:00 p.m. – Ceremony
7:30 p.m. – Dinner
8:00 p.m. – Ceremony (continues)
9:30 p.m. – Meet and Greet with Award Winners
10:00 p.m. – Event Ends

Questions? Contact Rebecca Stephens, director of events and public relations, at or (304) 696-3424.

Marshall University Alumni Awards

The most visible sign of the vitality of a University can be seen by examining the success and achievements of its alumni. Marshall University and the Marshall University Alumni Association are proud to honor exceptional graduates each year during the annual Alumni Awards Banquet and Reception. These awards recognize the significant contributions of our alumni to their alma mater, their profession, and their community.

National Alumni Award Recipients

Please join us in congratulating the 2023 Alumni Award recipients. The recipients will be recognized at the 84th Alumni Awards Banquet.

2023 Scholarship, Chapter and College Awards

Chapter Awards

Co-Chapter of the Year: Marshall University Alumni of the Mid-Ohio Valley
Co-Chapter of the Year: Marshall University Southern Coalfields Alumni and Big Green Chapter

Scholarship Recipients

Cam Henderson Scholarship: Abigail Hugh
Nancy Pelphrey/Herd Village Scholarship (Cheer): Jaeden Fleenor
Nancy Pelphrey/Herd Village Scholarship (Band): Kenneth Johnson
Nate Ruffin Scholarship: Destinee Leggett
Janis Winkfield Scholarship: Jaedyn Harris
Fran Jackson Scholarship: Tia Wooding

College Awards of Distinction

Marshall University School of Medicine: Dr. Robert J. Cure
Marshall University School of Pharmacy: Dr. Sarah Dunaway
College of Arts and Media: Sassa Wilkes
College of Business: Zach Meyers
College of Education and Professional Development: Lucianne Kautz-Call
College of Health Professions: Denise Hogsett
College of Engineering and Computer Sciences: Adam Weible
College of Liberal Arts: Dr. Janine Janosky
College of Science: Jody Ogle


Click here to view past awardees and learn how to nominate an alumni for an award. For additional information or questions, please email or call (304) 696-3424.